Skip to content
Application Process

Police Officer Basic Requirements: Age, Citizenship, Education (RCMP and B.C.)

What the RCMP, Vancouver, New Westminster and Transit Police each state about minimum age, maximum age, residency, education, licence and record, in their own words.

5 min readLast reviewed 2026-09-28
Take the free Readiness Snapshot

About three minutes, no account. Practice, not an official test.

Before you invest months in preparation, the first question is whether you meet the basic requirements. There is no single national standard: the RCMP and each municipal service publish their own. This page collects what four agencies’ own pages say, using each agency’s wording, and checked directly against those pages on 2026-09-28. Where a page is silent we say “not stated”, which is not the same as “no requirement”.

Age: is there a maximum?

  • RCMP: you can apply and begin the selection process and basic training at 18, but must be at least 19 to be hired as a police officer. The RCMP page states: “There is no maximum age limit to apply to the RCMP.”
  • Vancouver Police Department: “minimum 19 years of age.” The page does not state a maximum age.
  • New Westminster Police Department: “19 years of age or older.” The page does not state a maximum age.
  • Metro Vancouver Transit Police: “Minimum age 19 years.”

Only the RCMP says outright that there is no maximum. For the municipal services, a silent page is not a promise either way, so ask the recruiting unit if age is a concern.

Citizenship and residency

  • RCMP: Canadian citizen or permanent resident. For permanent residents the RCMP states: “To apply, permanent residents must have lived in Canada for at least 1,095 days (3 years) during the past 5 years.”
  • Vancouver, New Westminster, Transit: each lists Canadian citizen or permanent resident. The Vancouver and New Westminster pages add no residency-duration rule.

Education

  • RCMP: a Canadian secondary school (high school) diploma or equivalent.
  • Vancouver: Grade 12 diploma or equivalent, plus a minimum of 30 academic post-secondary credits or equivalent professional development credits.
  • New Westminster: a high school graduation certificate, GED, or Canadian Adult Education Credential, plus a minimum of 30 post-secondary credits from an accredited institution recognized by the BC Council on Admissions and Transfer, “or an equivalent combination of education, training, and experience.” Education completed outside Canada must be evaluated by the International Credential Evaluation Service (ICES).
  • Transit Police: a Grade 12 diploma at minimum; “your combination of life experience and education will be evaluated.” The page also lists a keyboarding certificate of at least 25 words per minute.

Driver’s licence and first aid

  • RCMP: a valid, unrestricted Canadian driver’s licence and a valid standard first aid certificate.
  • Vancouver: a valid BC class 5 licence with no restrictions and a good driving record; valid Standard/Intermediate First Aid (CPR “C” and AED).
  • New Westminster: a valid Class 5 licence; a current basic first aid and CPR certificate.
  • Transit Police: a valid Class 5 licence with a good driving history; a valid first aid certificate with CPR-C.

Vision, hearing, and physical standards

These agencies refer to vision standards (and, for some, hearing standards), but they publish them differently. New Westminster lists numbers on its page: unaided vision of at least 6/12 (20/40) in one eye and 6/30 (20/100) in the other, correctable to 6/6 (20/20) and 6/9 (20/30), normal depth perception, and hearing loss not greater than 50 dB in one ear and 30 dB in the other in the 500–3000 range. Transit Police points to its application form for vision and states hearing loss no greater than 30 dB in both ears in the 500–3000 Hz range. Vancouver says applicants must “meet the visual acuity standards” without listing them on that page. The RCMP says applicants must meet its vision, hearing, health, psychological and physical standards. Because these differ and change, check your own agency’s current standard before making decisions about corrective surgery or timing.

Criminal record and conduct

  • RCMP: to apply you must not have matters pending or before a criminal court; not have a conviction for which you have not received a pardon or record suspension; not have participated in serious criminal behaviour; not have participated in any criminal behaviour or activity within at least one year of the date of application; not have been dishonourably discharged or dismissed from another police, military or law enforcement organization; and not have pending or current personal bankruptcies or consumer proposals.
  • Vancouver: “no criminal convictions, no adult criminal charges pending.”
  • Transit Police: no criminal record for which a pardon has not been granted, and no adult criminal charges pending.

Honesty matters more than any single line here: agencies check what you disclose, and the RCMP publishes a list of misconduct that can prevent success. See preparing for a background investigation.

Verify Before You Rely

This page does not cover every service. Surrey, Delta and Abbotsford publish their own requirements; see the Surrey, Delta and Abbotsford guides. Requirements change, and an agency’s page is the only authoritative source for its own rules. Check the date each source was read below, then confirm on the agency’s current page before you apply.

What to do next

What this article is not

This is a summary of what each agency’s own published page currently says, not legal or eligibility advice, and not a guarantee that meeting a minimum leads to an offer. ETHOS Prep is independent and is not affiliated with any police service.

Official Sources

Put this into practice:

← Back to all resources